Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Pre-Insert of Data Block doesn't work for me. (Oracle 10g Forms Builder 10.1.2.0.2 Windows XP)
Pre-Insert of Data Block doesn't work for me. [message #425376] Thu, 08 October 2009 17:34 Go to next message
fredg
Hello everyone, I am a newbie in Oracle Forms, really need help to figure out the issue of Pre-insert trigger.

I created form DEPT by following a tutorial, then data block DEPARTMENT was generated by data block wizard. at this stage, I got everything runs well, data appears correctly. So I want to use an Oracle Sequence in datablock which should generate & display the new ID in the field when user click on icon "Insert Record"on toolbox.

Firstly, the auto_sequence runs correctly by SQL*PLUS
select DEPT_ID_SEQ.nextval from DUAL;

Then I insert code as follows in trigger PRE-INSERT of DATA BLOCK.

type: trigger
object: department - Data Block Level
begin
select DEPT_ID_SEQ.nextval
into :DEPARTMENT.ID
from DUAL;
end;

finally, I save + compile module + run form, I didn't see an auto-generated ID in the ID field once I clicked the icon "insert records".

Then I made a button call "New ID", then inserted the code above into button's trigger "WHEN-BUTTON-PRESSED", re-run the form, it works!

For my understand, the icon "Insert Record" on toolbar doesn't active the trigger "PRE-INSERT".

Why?

[EDITED by LF: removed superfluous empty lines]

[Updated on: Fri, 09 October 2009 00:52] by Moderator

Report message to a moderator

Re: Pre-Insert of Data Block doesn't work for me. [message #425400 is a reply to message #425376] Fri, 09 October 2009 00:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator