Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Calling PL/SQL function in a form (Forms 6i)
Calling PL/SQL function in a form [message #430462] Tue, 10 November 2009 08:28 Go to next message
nathanvijay77
Hi...

I am a beginner in Forms and I am building a totally custom form wherein a user can enter the item they want and qty and other features such as colors and based on that system would give a low and high price and user chooses a price anywhere in between low and high price.

I have written function to calculate low and high cost with what users choose as parameters such as material, color etc.

Low Price, High price and price the user puts in are columns in same table.

I tried populating the low price by calling the low price function in property pallete under the formula. This works but issue is till user chooses all the required fields in run time, the system displays FORMAULA_CALCULATION trigger.

Is my approach correct or is there a more efficient way of accomplishing this?

The low price and high price should always get populated from functions and user should not be able to change them and price the users chooses should be between the 2.
Re: Calling PL/SQL function in a form [message #430469 is a reply to message #430462] Tue, 10 November 2009 08:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
cookiemonster
Why not use a button to call the functions?
Re: Calling PL/SQL function in a form [message #430471 is a reply to message #430469] Tue, 10 November 2009 09:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
nathanvijay77
Yes,

I already thought about that...using buttons and use when button press trigger.

The issue is according to requirement, user enters raw material,colors and other features and then system should show low price and high price and user chooses a price in betweenthat and then writes to oracle table. I will be using another button to write the data to oracle.